Who can do this?
Only Group owners and Echo360 administrators can delete groups.
Once you delete a group, the association of the content as well as the association of the members is removed. Users who could not otherwise access the content in the group can no longer access it once the group is deleted. Deleting a group cannot be undone.
Deleting a group does NOT delete the media that was in the group. Deleting the group only removes the group's references to the media. The media still appears in the owner's library.
There are two ways to delete a group:
- Click Groups from the top menu.
The figure below shows an instructor top navigation bar, but administrators also have a Groups option in the top menu.
- Hover over the tile for the group you want to delete, and click the menu button as shown below.
- Select Delete from the group menu options.
If you see Remove instead of Delete in the group tile menu, this means you are not an owner in that group. You can remove yourself from the group, which removes the group from your Groups page. But you cannot delete the group.
- From the Groups page, click on the group tile to enter the group.
- Select Edit Details in the group as shown below.
- Select Delete from the Group Details page.
In both cases, you will receive a confirmation message for deleting the group.
Once deletion is confirmed, you are returned to your Groups page and the deleted group no longer appears for you or any former members of the group. Media that had been in the group still appears in the owner's content library; deleting the group does not delete the media, only the group references to the media.