Delegated administration uses the Institution > Organization > Department hierarchy to allow or restrict administrative access to objects based on their association with a level in the hierarchy. Meaning that an Admin who is given rights to only Department X and Y can perform administrative tasks, like enabling or disabling features, or create/edit/delete courses, but only for items that exist WITHIN that Department. A further discussion on the capabilities of Delegated Administrators can be found in User Roles, Capabilities, and Limitations.
Delegated Administration is OFF by default. When first toggled on, all admins currently in the system are automatically granted institution-level administrative access. To restrict admin access for these users, you must disable their institution-level access first, which removes all lower-level access. Then you can explicitly enable access to the appropriate organizations and/or departments. See Assigning Administrator Access to Organizations or Departments for detailed instructions.
Because captures are published (or not published) to sections, which exist in courses that that themselves may reside within an Org or Dept (within the hierarchy), delegated administration provides additional toggles that determine which captures an admin can view:
- only those published to sections in their hierarchy
- all published captures
- all unpublished captures
Future Admin users must be given explicit administrative privileges to the hierarchy. While existing Admins are given institution-level access when Delegated Administration is FIRST turned on, all NEW admin users have NO administrative access given for any level. You must explicitly provide administrative privileges at the appropriate hierarchical nodes/levels. If you do not, those users will not be able to see courses, sections, or captures.
Once enabled, if you disable the toggle, all Org or Dept administrators retain their lower-level access. If your intent is to return all administrators to institution-level admins, check the box for all admins at the Institution level, then turn Delegated Administration off.
To enable Delegated Administration
- Log in as an administrator.
- Click the Settings icon in the upper-right corner of the screen (it looks like a gear or cog).
- From the Settings menu, select Institution Settings. The Institution appears at the top of the list and is selected by default.
- On the right side of the Institution Settings page, click Features.
- Under Features, enable the Delegated Administration switch (it is disabled by default).
- READ the confirmation message that appears, so you understand the impacts of the change.
- If appropriate, click Yes.
- The sub-toggles for allowing access to captures outside of the hierarchy are enabled. Enable or Disable the sub-toggles as needed. These are described in detail below.
When the Institution page refreshes, you should now see an Administrators tab in the right panel. To configure administrative access for users, click Administrators, then check or uncheck users at each level (Institution, Organization, Department) as needed. See Assigning Administrator Access to Organizations or Departments for details. See User Roles, Capabilities, and Limitations for a discussion of the capabilities of institution-level admins vs. delegated (lower-level) admins.
Because captures are published (or not published) to sections, which exist within the hierarchy, delegated administration has sub-settings that determine which captures an admin can view: only those published to sections in their hierarchy, all published captures, and/or unpublished captures.
The sub-toggles function as follows:
- If both toggles are turned OFF, delegated admins can only see captures that are published to the sections that reside within their hierarchy. This is the default setting.
- If Allow access to all published content is turned ON, delegated admins can see all published captures, to include those published to sections outside of their administrative access hierarchy.
- If Allow access to all unpublished content is turned ON, but Allow access to all published content is turned OFF, delegated admins can see captures published to the sections in their hierarchy and any captures that have not yet been published. If a capture is published to a section outside of their administrative access hierarchy, they cannot see it.
- If both access toggles are turned ON, delegated administrators can see (and control) all captures in the system. They are still, however, limited to publishing those captures only to sections within their hierarchy.