By default, primary instructors for a section can create a clone of their section, copying the class list and media to a new section. The Clone Section feature is available on the Section Settings > Features tab, and is only visible to the primary instructor for the section.
Administrators can remove the ability for instructors to create new sections by cloning.
Instructor section cloning is enabled by default but can be disabled at the institution level.
Disabling instructor cloning does not affect the clone section feature for administrators.
To remove the ability for primary instructors to clone sections
- Log in as an administrator.
- Click the Settings icon in the upper-right corner of the screen.
- From the Settings menu, select Institution Settings.
The Institution appears at the top of the list and is selected by default.
- On the right side of the Institution Settings page, click Features.
- Disable the Instructor section cloning toggle on (it is enabled by default).
- Click OK on the confirmation message that appears.
Instructors will no longer see the Clone Section button in the Settings > Features tab of their sections. Administrators can still clone sections from the Courses page.