Classes created by the system to hold a capture (either from a schedule or an ad hoc capture) cannot be deleted as long as there are appliance-generated captures in them. Furthermore, an Instructor cannot delete these captures from their library if they are still published to a class, regardless of the Instructor capture deletion toggle setting.
Because unpublishing content from a class also removes the student interaction and analytic data, many institutions prefer that instructors cannot remove the media from the class. This data cannot be recovered. However, some institutions want instructors to fully control what content is published or not published and need this flexibility.
Enabling capture unpublishing by instructors allows instructors to remove any existing (not future) captures from their classes. Once the capture is unpublished, an instructor can then delete the class from their section and/or delete the capture from their library.
This toggle setting only applies to appliance-generated captures that were auto-published published to system-created classes. The unpublishing toggle does NOT restrict the removal of manually published media from any classes.
Be advised: unpublishing captures removes analytic and other section-related data for the capture as does deleting classes. This data cannot be recovered.
Instructor capture unpublishing is disabled by default but can be enabled at the institution level; it cannot be set at the organization, department, or section level.
To allow instructors to unpublish appliance-generated captures and delete associated classes
- Log in as an administrator.
- Click the Settings icon in the upper-right corner of the screen.
- From the Settings menu, select Institution Settings.
The Institution appears at the top of the list and is selected by default.
- On the right side of the Institution Settings page, click Features.
- Enable the Instructor capture unpublishing toggle on (it is disabled by default).
- Click OK on the confirmation message that appears.
Instructors will now see a Remove option for appliance-generated captures in the icon menu for a class. Previously the Remove option appeared but was grayed out for appliance-generated captures.